The 2021 IRES awards were announced at the IRES Board meeting on May 12.   The recipients are:

IRES Achievement Award: Mo Rodriguez

Dr. Rodriguez’s internationally cited research includes work on spatial statistics, corporate real estate, REITs, capital markets and commercial real estate, appearing in journals such as Real Estate Economics, Journal of Real Estate Research, and Journal of Real Estate Finance and Economics. In addition, he is as an editor for Journal of Real Estate Literature.  Mo has served as a member of the IRES and ARES Boards of Directors, Executive Director of the James R. Webb ARES Foundation, and ARES Director of Finance.  He was instrumental in the formation of LARES and development of the IRES website and continues to champion support for doctoral students and faculty in emerging countries.

IRES Service Award: Bob Martens

Dr. Martens is a long-serving member of the ERES Board of Directors and organized the 2013 ERES conference at which IRES held its Board of Directors meeting.  He spearheaded the effort to create and host a searchable digital library of conference and symposium papers and abstracts for IRES, LARES, and AfRES, creating permanent records that members of all societies can access to further their research.

IRES Corporate Leadership Award:  Department of Construction Economics and Management, University of Cape Town

The University of Cape Town Department of Construction Economics and Management has played an active role in supporting AfRES.  The Department has hosted AfRES annual conferences and seminars as well as the office of the AfRES Executive Director, providing financial and staff support.  In 2017, the Department enthusiastically took on the relaunching and operation of the Journal of African Real Estate Research within the Urban Real Estate Research Unit, ensuring a peer-reviewed outlet for African real estate researchers. (news story)

2020 IRES Doctoral Symposium Presentation Awards

IRES held its first virtual symposium for doctoral students October 28-30, 2020. Doctoral students from around the globe were invited to submit a video presentation of their research in the areas of real estate finance and investment, urban and housing economics, urban planning, real estate sustainability and related fields. Nine students from among these were selected by the committee to make a live presentation and receive feedback from a mentor. Three students were chosen to receive best presentation awards of $1,000 sponsored by the James R. Webb ARES Foundation. The three winners of the presentation awards are:

Ren Ren, University of Hong Kong

The boom-bust asymmetry of supply elasticity and property price changes: New evidence from within-city analysis

Marina Koelbl, University of Regensburg

Is mandatory risk reporting informative? Evidence from US REITs using machine learning for text analysis

Felix Gauger, TU Darmstadt

Coworking spaces and start-ups: Empirical evidence from a product market competition perspective

Congratulations as well to the other finalists:

  • Lingshan Xie (University College London)
  • Charlotte van der Lijn (University of Sheffield)
  • Simon Stehle (University of Konstanz)
  • Aleksandar Petresk (Jönköping International Business School)
  • Han Liu (The George Washington University)
  • Wei Lin (University of St. Gallen)

Mentors: Dr. Kola Akinsomi, Dr. Yi Fan, Dr. Jeremy Gabe, Dr. Kwan Ok Lee, Dr. Rose Lai, Dr. Masaki Mori, Dr. Woei Chyung Wong, Dr. Peter Wyatt, and Dr. Nafeesa Yunus.

The Symposium was organized by an international committee comprised of Dr. Masaki Mori (chair), Dr. Jeremy Gabe, Dr. Kwan Ok Lee, Dr. Paloma Talavull de La Paz, and Mr. Alessandro Verdrossi.